De BILBO winkel en onze webshop zijn open voor uw aankopen!

!!!! Door verschillende gebeurtenissen in de muziekindustrie (Brexit, coronamaatregelen, grondstoftekorten, ...) kunnen we momenteel geen exacte levertermijnen geven !!!! Wil je zeker je bestelling op tijd, bestel dan items die voorradig zijn!

Door Brexit kunnen wij momenteel niet meer verzenden naar UK

Joan As Police Woman - The Solution Is Restless (with Tony Allen en Dave Okumu) (2LP) (Coloured)

30,00 €
5 november 2021
Niet op voorraad

Meer van deze Artiest:

The Solution Is Restless
Joan As Police Woman

Joan Wasser aka JOAN AS POLICE WOMAN returns with her new album ‘The Solution Is Restless’ written and recorded with Dave Okumu of The Invisible and legendary drummer Tony Allen shortly before he sadly passed away. Of the album, Joan Wasser says: “Damon Albarn introduced me to Afrobeat legend, Tony Allen, at the March 2019 Africa Express event “The Circus” and we hit it off. Tony and I played a version of Nina Simone's "I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free" and decided to record together. I asked my old friend and fierce musician, Dave Okumu, to join from London and that November, in a Parisian studio, we improvised all night. When the world shut down, I used those recordings to write a record entitled “The Solution Is Restless”.” In a year when most of the world pressed ‘pause’, Joan has been making and releasing new music. She wrote and recorded with Damon Albarn for the Gorillaz ‘Song Machine’ album - listen to ‘Simplicity’ HERE - released her second album of covers (‘Cover Two’) and her first live album, ‘Live’. She also appeared on the Afel Bocoum album “Lindé” (World Circuit). Tony Allen was the drummer and musical director of Fela Kuti’s band Africa '70 from 1968 to 1979, and was one of the primary co-founders of the genre of Afrobeat. Fela once stated that, "without Tony Allen, there would be no Afrobeat” and he was described by Brian Eno as "perhaps the greatest drummer who has ever lived". Besides many other musical milestones and collaborations, in recent years Tony teamed up with Damon Albarn, Paul Simonon and Simon Tong to form The Good, the Bad & the Queen. Dave Okumu is best known for fronting the Mercury Music Prize band The Invisible and more recently announcing the release of a solo album ‘Knopperz’ due for release in September.

Tracklist Product: 

1. The Barbarian
2. Get My Bearings (feat. Damon Albarn)
3. Take Me To Your Leader
4. Masquerader
5. Dinner Date
6. Enter the Dragon
7. Geometry of You
8. The Love Has Got Me
9. Perfect Shade of Blue
10. Reaction